Connect with us

WPL 2024 Auction To Be Held In Mumbai On December 9


WPL 2024 Auction To Be Held In Mumbai On December 9

The Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2024 auction is all set to be held on December 9 in Mumbai, according to the latest reports in ESPNcricinfo.

WPL 2024 will be the second edition of the marquee T20 competition organized by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The competition is reportedly set to be played across Bengaluru and Mumbai from February.

In the first season of the competition, the teams had a purse of INR 12 crore. There will be a slight increment in the purse this time around as the teams will be given an additional INR 1.5 crore to acquire the services of the players.

The governing body had set October 15, 2023, as the deadline for the retention of players and the franchises retained 60 players including 21 overseas cricketers. Also, a total of 29 players were released from their existing squads. In the upcoming WPL auction, there are a total of 30 slots open out of which 9 slots are for overseas players.

Gujarat Giants will enter the auction with the biggest purse as they have INR 5.95 crore after releasing half of their squad while the inaugural champions Mumbai Indians will have the smallest purse as they only have INR 2.1 crore.

FranchiseNo of PlayersNo of Overseas PlayersTotal money spent (Rs.)Salary cap available (Rs.)Available SlotsOverseas Slots

Complete List Of Players Retained & Released By Teams Ahead Of WPL 2024

Delhi Capitals (DC)

Retained Players: Alice Capsey*, Arundhati Reddy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Jess Jonassen*, Laura Harris*, Marizanne Kapp*, Meg Lanning*, Minnu Mani, Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Shafali Verma, Shikha Pandey, Sneha Deepthi, Taniyaa Bhatia, Titas Sadhu

Released Players: Aparna Mondal, Jasia Akhter, Tara Norris*

Gujarat Giants (GG)

Retained Players: Ashleigh Gardner*, Beth Mooney*, Dayalan Hemalatha, Harleen Deol, Laura Wolvaardt*, Shabnam Shakil, Sneh Rana, Tanuja Kanwer

Released Players: Annabel Sutherland*, Ashwani Kumari, Georgia Wareham*, Hurley Gala, Kim Garth*, Mansi Joshi, Monica Patel, Parunika Sisodia, Sabbineni Meghana, Sophia Dunkley*, Sushma Verma

Mumbai Indians (MI)

Retained Players: Amanjot Kaur, Amelia Kerr*, Chloe Tryon*, Harmanpreet Kaur, Hayley Matthews*, Humairaa Kaazi, Isabelle Wong*, Jintimani Kalita, Natalie Sciver*, Pooja Vastrakar, Priyanka Bala, Saika Ishaque, Yastika Bhatia

Released Players: Dhara Gujjar, Heather Graham*, Neelam Bisht, Sonam Yadav

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

Retained Players: Asha Shobana, Disha Kasat, Ellyse Perry*, Heather Knight*, Indrani Roy, Kanika Ahuja, Renuka Singh, Richa Ghosh, Shreyanka Patil, Smriti Mandhana, Sophie Devine*

Released Players: Dané Van Niekerk*, Erin Burns*, Komal Zanzad, Megan Schutt*, Poonam Khemnar, Preeti Bose, Sahana Pawar

UP Warriorz (UPW)

Retained Players: Alyssa Healy*, Anjali Sarvani, Deepti Sharma, Grace Harris*, Kiran Navgire, Lauren Bell*, Laxmi Yadav, Parshavi Chopra, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, S. Yashasri, Shweta Sehrawat, Sophie Ecclestone*, Tahlia Mcgrath*

Released Players: Devika Vaidya, Shabnim Ismail*, Shivali Shinde, Simran Shaikh

Continue Reading
You may also like...
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket

Most Runs Scored by


To Top