Connect with us

IND vs AUS 2023: Australia unveils revised squad for remaining T20I matches against India


IND vs AUS 2023: Australia unveils revised squad for remaining T20I matches against India

Australia, reeling from a 0-2 deficit in the ongoing T20I series against India, have opted for a strategic overhaul by making six significant changes to their squad for the remaining three matches.

Strategic player rotation and rest policy

World Cup heroes Adam Zampa and Steve Smith have reportedly returned home ahead of the third T20I in Guwahati, while Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Josh Inglis and Sean Abbott are set to depart after the third T20I. Amidst the reshuffling, Travis Head emerges as the solitary representative from Australia’s triumphant World Cup-winning campaign. However he is yet to play a match in the series.

The decision to rest players, although the specific reason remains undisclosed, is perceived as a strategic move to provide a break to individuals who have spent over two months in India. Many of these players were also part of Australia’s ODI squad that engaged in a three-game series against India in preparation for the World Cup.

Inclusion of new faces in the Australian squad

The revamped squad sees the inclusion of wicketkeeper-batter Joshua Phillippe and power-hitter Ben McDermott, both of whom are now available for selection in the upcoming third T20I. Meanwhile, left-arm fast bowler Ben Dwarshuis and spinner Chris Green will join the squad after the 3rd T20I.

Also READ: IPL 2024: Mumbai Indians trade Cameron Green to RCB, get Hardik Pandya from Gujarat Titans

Australia’s challenge: Overcoming 0-2 deficit

Australia finds themselves at a critical juncture in the T20I leg, having succumbed to defeats in the first two games. The upcoming third fixture, slated for Barsapara Stadium in Guwahati on Tuesday, holds key to their survival in the series. With Raipur set to host the fourth T20I on December 1 and the series concluding in Bengaluru on December 3, Australia faces a must-win situation to turn the tide and keep their hopes alive. The forthcoming games at different venues present challenges and opportunities, making each encounter pivotal in determining the outcome of the series.

Australia’s updated squad for the remaining T20Is against India

Matthew Wade (c), Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Ben Dwarshuis, Nathan Ellis, Chris Green, Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Ben McDermott, Josh Philippe, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Kane Richardson.

Also READ: IPL 2024 Retention: Fans left stunned as RCB opts to release Josh Hazlewood ahead of the auction

Continue Reading
You may also like...
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket

Most Runs Scored by


To Top