Connect with us
[entitysport_widget id=appendHtmlForslider_widgetcricket]

Temba Bavuma Ruled Out Of England Clash Due To Illness


Temba Bavuma Ruled Out Of England Clash Due To Illness


Temba Bavuma has been ruled out of the upcoming game between South Africa and England in the ongoing ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023. The match is scheduled to be played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Saturday (October 21).

The right-handed batsman will miss the crucial clash due to illness. In his absence, Aiden Markram will be leading the Proteas against the reigning world champions. Temba Bavuma has had a very quiet World Cup so far. In three innings, he registered scores of 8, 35, and 16 before being sidelined with illness.

Talking about South Africa’s campaign in the World Cup so far, they have won two games and lost one so far. They began their campaign with a brilliant 102-run win over Sri Lanka. In their second game, they thrashed Australia by 134 runs to prove their World Cup credentials. But in their third game, they suffered a shock 38-run loss at the hands of the Netherlands.

South Africa will be looking to bounce back against England in the forthcoming game. England have made an unimpressive start in the tournament. In the tournament opener, they suffered a 9-wicket defeat against New Zealand before registering a 137-run win over Bangladesh. But in the third game, Afghanistan beat them by 69 runs.

Aiden Markram to lead South Africa in Temba Bavuma’s absence:

Aiden Markram came out for the toss for the ENG vs SA game in place of Temba Bavuma. The stand-in captain confirmed that Reeza Hendricks will be replacing the captain in the playing eleven.

“Bavuma is ill, so Reeza comes in. Nice opportunity for him. Might be a little bit in it (pitch) during the powerplay. Sort of motivates you a bit. Not focussing too much on it. It’s about reaching those standards set by us. Reeza has been knocking on the door for a while, he comes in. It’s a fantastic opportunity for him,” said Markram.

South Africa (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock(w), Reeza Hendricks, Rassie van der Dussen, Aiden Markram(c), Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Jansen, Gerald Coetzee, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi

England (Playing XI): Jonny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Harry Brook, Jos Buttler(w/c), David Willey, Adil Rashid, Gus Atkinson, Mark Wood, Reece Topley


Continue Reading
You may also like...
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket

Most Runs Scored by


To Top