Connect with us
[entitysport_widget id=appendHtmlForslider_widgetcricket]

South Africa Pace Spearhead Lungi Ngidi Ruled Out Of India T20Is


South Africa Pace Spearhead Lungi Ngidi Ruled Out Of India T20Is


In a massive blow to South Africa days before the start of the IND vs SA T20I series in the Rainbow country, one of their pace spearheads has been ruled out of the three-match series beginning on December 10. While the series opener is set to commence on Sunday in Durban, the hosts will now be without the services of right-arm pacer Lungi Ngidi who has sustained a left-ankle sprain and will not be available even in one of the three matches of the series.

The 27-year-old speedster’s last appearance in an internation fixture came in the league stage of the ODI World Cup 2023 in India which culminated last month. Ngidi has thus been released from the squad with immediate effect and is set to undergo rehabilitation. His recovery will happen under the supervision of the South African medical team. A final call on Ngidi’s participation in the two-match Test series agains will be taken later.

Also On ABP LIVE | Former South Africa Captain Hints At International Comeback In T20 World Cup 2024

Lungi Ngidi’s Replacement Announced

Meanwhile, South Africa have also announced Ngidi’s replacement in the squad and it is Beuran Hendricks who replaced Ngidi in the squad. Hendricks has featured in 1 Test, 8 ODIs and 19 T20Is so far but the left-arm seamer will play his first international match in two years if he makes it to the playing 11 in the three-match series. After the series opener in Durban, the next two T20Is will be played in Gqeberha and Johannesburg on December 12 and 14 respectively.

Also Read | India Tour Of South Africa: Squads, Schedule, Timings, Live Streaming Details — All You Need To Know

South Africa T20I squad: 
Aiden Markram (captain), Ottniel Baartman, Matthew Breetzke, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee (1st and 2ndT20Is), Donovan Ferreira, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen (1st and 2nd T20Is), Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Beuran Hendricks, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Lizaad Williams.


Continue Reading
You may also like...
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket

Most Runs Scored by


To Top