Connect with us

Pakistan announce new T20I and Test captains after Babar Azam steps down


Pakistan announce new T20I and Test captains after Babar Azam steps down

Babar Azam, on Wednesday, dropped a captaincy bombshell following Pakistan‘s early exit from the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 in India.

Babar Azam resigns from captaincy

Babar took to Twitter to officially announce his resignation from the captaincy position.

“I vividly remember the moment when I received the call from PCB to lead Pakistan in 2019. Over the past four years, I’ve experienced many highs and lows on and off the field, but I wholeheartedly and passionately aimed to maintain Pakistan’s pride and respect in the cricket world,” wrote Babar in his resignation post.

He added: “Reaching the number 1 spot in the white-ball format was a result of the collective efforts of players, coaches, and management but I’d like to express my gratitude to passionate Pakistan cricket fans for their unwavering support during this journey. Today, I am stepping down as the captain of Pakistan in all formats. It’s a difficult decision but I feel it is a right time for this call.

“I will continue to represent Pakistan as a player in all three formats. I am here to support the new captain and the team with my experience and dedication. I want to express my sincere thanks to the Pakistan Cricket Board for entrusting me with this significant responsibility. PAKISTAN ZINDABAD.”

Also READ: Virat Kohli sets social media ablaze with his record-shattering ton against New Zealand at Wankhede – ODI World Cup 2023

PCB names new captains for T20I and Test teams

Following Babar’s announcement, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) swiftly revealed that fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi would take over as the T20I captain for the Green Army, while left-handed batter Shan Masood will lead the Test team.

The PCB made the official announcement on social media, stating, “Presenting our captains @shani_official has been appointed Test captain while @iShaheenAfridi will lead the T20I side.”

Also READ: Virat Kohli breaks Sachin Tendulkar’s record of most ODI centuries; Wankhede erupts in joy – IND vs NZ, ODI World Cup 2023

Continue Reading
You may also like...
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket

Most Runs Scored by


To Top