Connect with us

Lionel Messi pips Erling Haaland, Kylian Mbappe to win record-extending 8th Ballon d’Or


Lionel Messi pips Erling Haaland, Kylian Mbappe to win record-extending 8th Ballon d’Or

Argentina and Inter Miami captain Lionel Messi has won a record-extending eighth Ballon d’Or trophy in a glittering ceremony in Paris, France. Messi pipped Manchester City striker Erling Haaland and Paris Saint-Germain forward Kylian Mbappe to win the award.

The 36-year-old had a season to remember, getting his hands on the coveted FIFA World Cup trophy in Qatar last year. Messi scored 32 goals and provided 25 assists in 55 matches across competitions. He helped PSG lift the Ligue 1 title in the 2023/23 season, while guiding Inter Miami to the Leagues Cup triumph this year.

Messi had a brilliant World Cup campaign in Qatar, helping Argentina win their third title. He scored seven goals while providing three assists in seven matches. Messi netted a brace in the final as Argentina beat France on penalties following a hattrick from Mbappe at the Lusail Stadium. He was named the Man of the Match in the final while also winning the Golden Ball, given to the best player of the tournament.

Messi also became the first player in the history of FIFA World Cups to score in the group stage, last 16, quarter-finals, semi-finals and final.

Meanwhile, Mbappe netted 41 goals and provided 10 assists in 43 matches for PSG last season. Haaland found the back of the net on 52 occasions, while chipping in with nine assists in 53 matches as Manchester City became just the second English club to win the historic treble, lifting the Premier League, FA Cup and the UEFA Champions League title last season.


Aitana Bonmati won the women’s Ballon d’Or, pipping Sam Kerr and Salma Parralluelo for the award. She won the Women’s World Cup 2023 with Spain while also clinching the Golden Ball award in the tournament. The 25-year-old midfielder won the La Liga title with Barcelona last season, along with the Women’s Champions League.

Bonmati won the award for the first time, following in the footsteps of teammate Alexia Putellas, who won the award in the last two seasons.


Real Madrid and England midfielder Jude Bellingham was awarded the Kopa Trophy for the best player under the age of 21. Bellingham scored 14 goals in 42 matches for Borussia Dortmund last season as they finished second in the German Bundesliga. The 20-year-old then joined Real Madrid, where he has scored 13 goals in 13 matches, including a brace against rivals Barcelona.

Manchester City striker Erling Haaland was awarded the Gerd Muller Trophy for scoring the most number of goals. The Norwegian forward netted 56 goals across club and national competitions last season. World Cup winner Emiliano Martinez won the Yachine Trophy, given to the best goal keeper from last season.

English side Manchester City won the Men’s Club of the Year Award for the second time in a row. City became the second team since Sir Alex Ferguson’s 1998/99 Manchester United side to win the treble. Meanwhile, FC Barcelona Femeni won the Women’s Club of the Year award. Barcelona won the La Liga title for the eighth time while lifting the Champions League title for the second time in a row.

Edited By:

Rounaq Sehrawat

Published On:

Oct 31, 2023

Continue Reading
You may also like...
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket

Most Runs Scored by


To Top