Connect with us
[entitysport_widget id=appendHtmlForslider_widgetcricket]

IND vs NZ: Rohit Sharma looking to maintain consistency in ‘very important’ semi-final clash against New Zealand


IND vs NZ: Rohit Sharma looking to maintain consistency in ‘very important’ semi-final clash against New Zealand


India captain Rohit Sharma won a crucial toss at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Wednesday, 15 November. Playing their World Cup 2023 semi-final clash against New Zealand, Rohit won the toss and elected to bat first on the Mumbai pitch, which is expected to aid spinners later in the game.

IND vs NZ, World Cup Semi-Final: Live Updates | Scorecard

Sharma spoke at the toss and said that the team was looking to maintain consistency in the semi-final after their unbeaten run in the league-stage of the tournament. In the round-robin stage, Rohit Sharma’s India won 9 out of 9 matches, a record for the Men in Blue in ODI World Cups.

“We are gonna have a bat first. Yeah, looks like a good pitch. On the slower side as well. Whatever we do, we know that we have to do well,” Sharma said at the toss at the Wankhede Stadium.

“It was way back in 2019 when we played New Zealand in the semis. Four years later, New Zealand have been one of the most consistent sides in the world,” Sharma lauded the Kiwi side.

This is New Zealand’s fifth ODI World Cup semi-final in a row. The team has played the final in the 2015 and 2019 editions of the tournament and is yet to get their hand on the trophy. Under the leadership of captain Kane Williamson, New Zealand have been superb in the ICC tournaments and have reached the semi-finals of this edition of the tournament despite injury concerns.

India, on the other hand, are having their most dominant ODI World Cup campaign. Asked about the same, Sharma said that it was about turning up with full intensity every day.

“Very important day. Constantly, talking about how important it is about turning up on that day. It is about controlling the controllables. Same team,” the India captain concluded at the toss.

India Playing XI

Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Published By:

Kingshuk Kusari

Published On:

Nov 15, 2023


Continue Reading
You may also like...
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket

Most Runs Scored by


To Top