Connect with us
[entitysport_widget id=appendHtmlForslider_widgetcricket]

IND vs AUS, 4th T20I: India break Pakistan’s all-time record for most wins in format


IND vs AUS, 4th T20I: India break Pakistan’s all-time record for most wins in format


India went past Pakistan on the all-time wins list in T20Is after their win over Australia on December 1 in Raipur.

India clinched a series victory over Australia in the fourth T20I match, taking an unassailable lead of 3-1 in the five-match series. The match was held at the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Cricket Stadium in Raipur, Chhattisgarh, marking a significant triumph for the Indian team after their recent defeat to Australia in the ODI World Cup final.

IND vs AUS 4th T20I: Scorecard | Highlights

The toss, won by Australian wicketkeeper-batsman Matthew Wade, saw Australia opting to bowl first, a decision influenced by the anticipated dew factor later in the game. Despite this advantage, India managed to set a challenging target of 175 runs, ending their innings at 174/9. The Indian batting lineup showcased resilience and firepower, with notable performances from Yashasvi Jaiswal and Ruturaj Gaikwad, who established a solid 50-run opening partnership. Rinku Singh also played a crucial role, contributing a brisk 46 off 29 balls before falling in the last over.

India’s middle order experienced a brief collapse, but the team recovered well enough to post a competitive total. Ben Dwarshuis and Jason Behrendorff were instrumental for Australia, each taking two wickets in the final overs to restrict India’s scoring.

In response, Australia was held to 154/7, falling short by 20 runs. India’s bowling attack was spearheaded by Axar Patel, who claimed three vital wickets, putting Australia on the back foot. The Indian bowlers maintained pressure throughout the innings, ensuring that the Australian batters could not build the partnerships required to chase down the target.

This victory was particularly sweet for India, as they went past Pakistan on the all-time wins list in T20Is. This was India’s 136th win in the shortest format of the game from 213 matches.

Pakistan has got 135 wins to their name from 226 matches. This was also India’s 14th successive series win at home in T20Is as well.

Published On:

Dec 1, 2023


Continue Reading
You may also like...
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket

Most Runs Scored by


To Top