Connect with us
[entitysport_widget id=appendHtmlForslider_widgetcricket]

ENG vs SA, T20 World Cup: Baartman back for South Africa, replaces Shamsi in Super 8 clash


ENG vs SA, T20 World Cup: Baartman back for South Africa, replaces Shamsi in Super 8 clash


South Africa made one change for their crucial Super 8 clash in the T20 World Cup against England with pacer Ottneil Baartman replacing left-arm spinner Tabraiz Shamsi. The decision to include Baartman, a pace bowler, over the wrist-spinner Shamsi, indicates a tactical shift aimed at exploiting the pitch conditions and England’s batting lineup. On the other hand, England have retained their winning combination, confident in the team that delivered a convincing victory in their previous outing.

England captain Jos Buttler won the toss and opted to bowl first against South Africa in a pivotal Super 8 encounter of the T20 World Cup 2024 at the Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium. England will look to consolidate their position at the top of the points table after a dominant performance against the West Indies, while South Africa will look to maintain their unbeaten streak in the tournament.

ENG vs SA, T20 World Cup Super 8: Live Score

Former India batting coach Sanjay Bangar reckons he would have preferred including Shamsi against England but added that South African batters need to step up to win the crucial Super 8 match. “Well, I would still have preferred the wrist-spinner when you’re playing against England, you want to have that element against them because some of their batters do fare not as good against pacers. So Keshav Maharaj is a finger spinner of high quality and Kagiso Rabada, Marco Jansen and Anrich Nortje are a class act, but it is their batting who has to stand up and when batting for, if they can put up a good score, I feel they can challenge this English side,” Sanjay Bangar said while speaking on Star Sports after the toss.

ENG vs SA Playing XI

South Africa (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock(w), Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram(c), David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen, Tristan Stubbs, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Ottneil Baartman

England (Playing XI): Philip Salt, Jos Buttler(w/c), Harry Brook, Jonny Bairstow, Moeen Ali, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran, Jofra Archer, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood, Reece Topley

Published By:

Saurabh Kumar

Published On:

Jun 21, 2024


Continue Reading
You may also like...
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket

Most Runs Scored by


To Top